Bushnell Students Recognized at Annual Honors Convocation

EUGENE, Ore. – Bushnell University celebrated the academic achievements of its students at the annual Honors Convocation on Thursday, May 4, 2023, inside the Morse Events Center. This year’s event saw an impressive group of students recognized for their hard work and dedication in the classroom, with honors and inductions into professional societies.


Additionally, the Associated Students of Bushnell University (ASBU) presented awards to outstanding faculty and staff members, as well as top-performing students and campus club of the year. Staff, faculty, and ASBU proudly presented these prestigious awards. Award winners included:

Bible and World Christianity:

Zondervan Biblical Language Award – Kalani Miller
Zondervan Theology Award – Victor Hesser
William T. Siefke Evangelism & Church Growth Award – Sophie Choat
Siefke Preaching Scholarship Award – Sophie Choat
Siefke Potential for Preaching Scholarship Award – Annika Poet
Robert Sullivan Family Award for Creativity in Ministry – Hannah Beers
Stone Campbell Journal Promising Scholar Award – Annalee McIntosh

Arts and Sciences:

CLIO History Award – Celsie Smith
Outstanding Speaker Award – Annalee McIntosh
Gardiepy-Peloquin Communication Scholar Award – Bethany Taylor
Outstanding Graduating Exercise Science Student – Preston Ferry

Music and Performing Arts:

Outstanding Music Graduate – Jaden Brunhaver

Business, Leadership, and Technology:

Sigma Beta Delta Inductees

  • Jonathan Boggs
  • Madison Clark
  • Rochelle Farris
  • Jamison Hanson
  • Christina Linville
  • Halle Neumann
  • Peyton Ritchie
  • John Dave Schiffer
  • Melissa Stock
  • Shelly Williams

Specific Awards

Outstanding Business Graduate – Jamison Hanson
Frank Paliotta Outstanding Accounting Student – Madison Clark
OSCPA Circle of Excellence –  Madison Clark
OSCPA Scholarship – Christopher Rosebrook

Teacher Education:

Excellence in Teaching – Aspen Slifka (undergraduate) and Marcus Baxter (graduate)
Outstanding Teacher Leadership – Jesse Erickson (graduate) and Anna Wellman (graduate)
Excellence in School Counseling Leadership – Rachel Parac
Outstanding School Counselor – Kendra Stenlund

Psychology and Counseling:

Pi Gamma Mu Initiates

  • Jennifer Banning
  • Gay Brinda
  • Taylor Copenhaver
  • Cynthia Devouassoux
  • Patricia Dexter
  • Alexis Heenan
  • Ency Jacobo
  • Joshua Lutje
  • Joy Lusby
  • Dr. Erin Mueller
  • Adrianna Rusk
  • Kaitlin Schenker
  • Carie Simon
  • Amanda Torres-Sanchez

Specific Awards

Outstanding Psychology Major – Rebecca Kuskie
CMHC Student of the Year – Devon Halleman

Student Development:

Chi Alpha Sigma Initiates

  • Payton Jones
  • Kaylen Kamelamela
  • Rebecca Kuskie
  • Andrew Lindley
  • Halle Neumann
  • Mayah Pappas
  • Peyton Ritchie
  • Aspen Slifka
  • Jenae Usselman

Specific Awards

Student Leaders of the Year – Jaron Carter and Tyler King
ASBU Senior of the Year – Jaron Carter
ASBU Faculty of the Year – Joshua Little
ASBU Staff Member of the Year – Guillermo Torres-Sanchez
ASBU Club of the Year of the Year – Fellowship of Christian Athletes 

Song Nai Rhee Honors Program Inductees

  • Jamison Hanson

About Bushnell University

Founded in 1895 Bushnell University helps students discover and answer God’s call on their lives. Devoted to offering a Christ-centered environment, Bushnell encourages students to grow in wisdom, informed by faith, and leading to lives of service. Accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, the University was founded by pastor-educator Eugene C. Sanderson and pioneer businessman and church leader James A. Bushnell.

Bushnell is the largest private university in Eugene’s vibrant University District. The University offers bachelor’s and master’s degrees for undergraduate and graduate studies through course formats on campus, online, and hybrid formats. More information about the University is available at www.bushnell.edu.

Related Posts