Students Receive Honors

Students pose for picture with facultyNorthwest Christian University students who excelled in the classroom received honors or induction into professional societies for achievements during the Honors Convocation on Thurs., May 3, 2018, in the Morse Events Center on campus. Associated Students of Northwest Christian University also presented its awards to the top faculty member, staff member, and student.

Faculty members from each undergraduate program and ASNCU presented the following awards:

Arts & Sciences:

Sigma Tau Delta (English)

  • Tanner Dean’19
  • Micah Jury’18
  • Laurie Salness’19
  • Gabrielle Morales’19
  • Diego Delaplane’18
  • Zoe Herron’18
  • Kimberly Snyder ‘18

Specific Awards

Outstanding Psychology Major Award – Alaina Thomson’18
Outstanding Speaker – Zoe Herron’18
Gardiepy-Peloquin Communication Scholar Award – Michael Buss’18
Outstanding Graduating Exercise Science Student Award – Teresa Smalls’18

ACE Day Winner

1st place – Gianna Rains’19
2nd place, tie: Mackenzie Galick’18; Britnee Joaquin’18 and Bri Jury’18
3rd place – Kayla Miller’18 and Courtney Robertson’19

Accounting and Business & Management:

Sigma Beta Delta Initiates

  • Kayla Mitchell’18
  • Kaila Lee’18
  • Ryan Lebien MBA’18
  • Kristen Parr MBA’18
  • Michael Loomis’18
  • Caeli Barnhart’18

Specific Awards

Frank Paliotta Outstanding Accounting Student – Michael Loomis’18
OSCPA Educational Foundation Scholarship – Jessica Garner’18

Christian Ministry:

William T. Siefke Evangelism & Church Growth Award – Mitchell Davis ‘18 and Jacquelyn Cooley’18
Siefke Preaching Scholarship Award – Gabe Piechowicz’18
Siefke Potential for Preaching Scholarship Award – Katia Burke’21
Stone-Campbell Journal Promising Scholar Award – Mitchell Davis ‘18
Zondervan Biblical Language Award (Greek) – Mitchell Davis’18
Robert Sullivan Family Award for Creativity in Ministry – Gabe Piechowicz ‘18
Outstanding Music Graduate Award – Jacquelyn Cooley’18
Annie Anderson Scholar Award – Annie Anderson ’18

School of Education and Counseling:

Outstanding Teacher Leadership – Raegan Neu’18
Excellence in Teaching – Arica Hunter’18
Outstanding School Counselor – Rebecca Ledbetter MA’18
Excellence in School Counseling Leadership – Selena Alderson MA’18
Excellence in Master of Teaching – Ian MacGregor MAT’18
Outstanding Master’s of Teacher Leadership – Bradford Weyand MAT ’18

Student Development:

Student Leaders of the Year – Mitchell Davis ’18 & Michael Buss ’18

ASNCU Awards

Professor of the Year – Dr. James Watson
Staff Member of the Year – Princess Fox’02, MA’04
Senior of the Year – Michael Buss’18

Chi Alpha Sigma Initiates

Jordan Alexander ’18
Michael Loomis ’18
Tanner Nelson ’18
Rosa Schmidt ’18
Haley Damian ’18

Song Nai Rhee Honors Program Inductees

Michael Buss ’18
Kristyn Dodge ’18

Related Posts